Our Provision…

This word/phrase has come up several times this week and I know it’s the Lord’s ‘provision’ (… see?!) to remind us that He has had us in His hand up to this point and He will continue and that He provides everything we need…

+ He provided a decorated house for Christmas before the idea of decorating even crossed my mind.
+He provided a doctors appointment for next week – I reached out to request an appointment for next week as a follow up to second opinion and the nurse told me it was already scheduled for Monday. Because of a fun family trip to VA with friends I had rescheduled my 11.22 appt for 12.22 but totally forgotten. He provided the appointment I needed over 6 weeks in advance.
+He provided a message and offer to help from the adored doctor we met at MD Anderson before I even considered reaching out.
+He provided an appointment with renowned breast cancer doctor in Houston for my first choice of days (this Friday, 12.19) before I even asked or mentioned my preference (or even knew if I would get an appointment at all much less for the one day I had in mind in his schedule which, I am guessing, may not have another opening for weeks).
+He provided friends who came over today and asked if their company could financially provide for a nanny and/or housekeeper in upcoming months. Yes, you read that right.
+He provided a friend to wrap Christmas presents and friends to bring meals and friends to run errands and friends to bring coffee and sessies and to send flowers for encouragement.
+He has provided DAILY for Lincolns childcare needs – and often after not stating the need to anyone but the Lord Himself and then HE prompts His children to reach out and offer just what we need.
+He has provided our ability to afford expensive but very good health insurance (poor Blue Cross Blue Shield with me as their insured …)
+He has provided me with a mom who has offered come over every day, both before and after work, to help with any needs we have (she’s like this wonderful little fairy that makes everything look good and clean before we go to bed or before we start our day).
+He provides laughter for the journey … This week I put Lincoln down and started to pray but he rather rudely interrupted and asked me to pray for ME instead of him. I asked what I should pray for and he said, “Pray for your back and your bref …” My bref?! I replied and said, “what’s my bref? Do I have bad breath?! … Or do you mean breast?” And he said, “yeah pray for your breasts and the lions and the elephants and my lamp.” For reals?! I drew the line and told him I wouldn’t pray for the lamp but we got my back and breasts covered in prayer!
+He has provided answers to your prayers and healing. My back pain has been totally manageable with ibuprofen since Saturday – just one week after morphine and Hydrocodone were entirely insufficient for pain management.
+He has provided incredible HOPE in the midst of hard news. We don’t feel depressed or in despair … and that could only be the Lord! I have loved getting the diagnosis at this time of year because, consistent with our church’s sermon on Sunday, I am continually reminded, at Christmas, that He truly provided ALL I NEED in the birth and life and death of Jesus. In addition, He has reminded me that He is no stranger to the imminence of death and a shorter life (I am getting much more than 33 years) and a Father who grieved for His son like we grieve for ours. We have HOPE. And we aren’t Home (yet). God is good. And He provides. Always. And often even before we know the need ourselves.

We see our beloved Dr. Osborne tomorrow and will learn more about the results of the scans and liver biopsy and be discussing treatment plans – including the clinical trial she has in mind. We would love prayers for wisdom for her and for God to providentially point us to the best medicines for my body and to have His way in us. We will let you know what we learn.

Also, we will leave at some point Thursday to meet with Kent Osbourne in Houston at Baylor University Medical Center (not affiliated with our Baylor). He is the doctor who hosted and leads the breast cancer symposium that my doctor attended last week. And he knows a lot about various trials and which could be the best trial and/or treatment for me so I am thankful to have him on our team with our Dr. Osborne (yes, very confusing but they aren’t related and spell names slightly differently).

Thanks for the ways you have loved and prayed and supported us already. He has provided richly and abundantly through all of you.

22 thoughts on “Our Provision…

  1. As I have learned to say and LOVE to watch for, He provides EXACTLY what we need EXACTLY when we need it!!! He NEVER ceases to surprise me and I love it. Thank you for sharing the moments of Devine presence in your everyday life to help us to know that His hand is always upon us. Rest well, and THANK YOU for allowing us to be part of the prayer process. Such an honor indeed!

    May you feel Love and Blessings rain down on you this week!
    The Dorris Family (Jen Welsh’s little sister)

  2. Loved reading this!! I ran into Marty W. in the parking lot Sunday and we were talking about how we were filled with hope for you. Love how God kept that trend amongst your friends as well.

  3. Loved how you can give thanks in so many things. Praying for your visit to Houston this week and that there will be lots of great answers.

  4. Jen, how sweet to read this; no surprise you see all these things as God’s provision. He loves you and will always meet your needs. Praying for the Clouse House.

  5. I think I found your blog by way of Big Mama’s blog. I live in Magnolia just outside of Houston and have you and your family on my prayer list. I wish I could do something to help your family, God is taking such good care of you, I will keep praying.

  6. I read this today and thought of you… Written by Regina Brett, 90 years old, of the Plain Dealer, Cleveland, Ohio.

    “To celebrate growing older, I once wrote the 45 lessons life taught me. It is the most requested column I’ve ever written. My odometer rolled over to 90 in August, so here is the column once more:

    1. Life isn’t fair, but it’s still good. 2. When in doubt, just take the next small step. 3. Life is too short – enjoy it. 4. Your job won’t take care of you when you are sick. Your friends and family will. 5. Pay off your credit cards every month. 6. You don’t have to win every argument. Stay true to yourself. 7. Cry with someone. It’s more healing than crying alone. 8. It’s OK to get angry with God. He can take it. 9. Save for retirement starting with your first paycheck. 10. When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile. 11. Make peace with your past so it won’t screw up the present. 12. It’s OK to let your children see you cry. 13. Don’t compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about. 14. If a relationship has to be a secret, you shouldn’t be in it. 15. Everything can change in the blink of an eye, but don’t worry, God never blinks. 16. Take a deep breath. It calms the mind. 17. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful. Clutter weighs you down in many ways. 18. Whatever doesn’t kill you, really does make you stronger. 19. It’s never too late to be happy. But it’s all up to you and no one else. 20. When it comes to going after what you love in life, don’t take no for an answer. 21. Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special. 22. Over prepare, then go with the flow. 23. Be eccentric now. Don’t wait for old age to wear purple. 24. The most important sex organ is the brain. 25. No one is in charge of your happiness but you. 26. Frame every so-called disaster with these words ‘In five years, will this matter?’ 27. Always choose life. 28. Forgive 29. What other people think of you is none of your business. 30. Time heals almost everything. Give time, time. 31. However good or bad a situation is, it will change. 32. Don’t take yourself so seriously. No one else does. 33. Believe in miracles. 34. God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn’t do. 35. Don’t audit life. Show up and make the most of it now. 36. Growing old beats the alternative of dying young. 37. Your children get only one childhood. 38. All that truly matters in the end is that you loved. 39. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere. 40. If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back. 41. Envy is a waste of time. Accept what you already have, not what you need. 42. The best is yet to come… 43. No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up. 44. Yield. 45. Life isn’t tied with a bow, but it’s still a gift.”

  7. You light up my days with your hope. It is infectious. Thank you friend. Praying for you and your sweet family. And yes, I will pray for sweet Linc’s lamp if you won’t. ha ha ha. Go get ’em girl! xo

  8. I have been hoping for an update as I have been praying for you ALL THE TIME!!! Thank you for this. I love that Linc prayed for the lamp. I remember a prayer of one of my boys – “Fank you for de shudders and ladders. Amen” Thank you, Jesus, for Jen, and the way you are so clearly providing abundantly for her in this time. Provide HEALING please Lord!

  9. Oh how He holds us. You are a beautiful example of walking in faith not by sight…..you are loved beyond words and I’m honored to call you friend and walk through life with you.

  10. Jennifer, I am so encouraged by your faith in the ONE who holds everything together by the word of HIS power. I am praying for you all. I love your heart of Thanksgiving and gratitude amidst disappointment and uncertainty but your words have truly expressed where your heart is and that is such a testimony to all of us and to a watching world.

  11. “I love lamp.” Oh Linc already funny like your mama. I love to watch Him work in every detail of your story and provide all that you need. I love you. Praying ahead for discernment in all the upcoming decisions and wisdom for doctors both in Dallas and Houston. Xoxo

  12. Praying for you, for the doctors and the caregivers. I found your story through Melanie’s blog whom I’ve read for years. I am in Houston – if there is anything, seriously anything I can do while you are down here, I am here to help.

  13. Another friend here from Melanie’s blog…just want you to know that many are praying for you. Your blog has blessed me today reading your faith in the midst of this storm. Lifting prayers for peace, renewal, and healing! Kristi

  14. Thank you for the updates! It’s sweet to hear you identify how He is answering specific prayers so beautifully and allowing us to see His care and power in your lives. Praying for you all!

  15. Jen, what faith you have and I know HE will answer all your friends and everyone’s prayers.
    You are a very lucky girl to have so many that want to help. You have been blessed.
    Good luck tomorrow and the next day in Houston. God bless you. Now and forever.
    If I was closer I would take Lincoln and hug him so hard. His pics are so precious and what he says is something else. Not only are you are so strong but Scott.
    Hi to you both. Love to all, Anisse

  16. Sending this post from yesterday and todays. My heart is broken for them, but we know that the Lord has His own plan so we will ask Him for a miracle for this precious family. First I’m sending yesterdays post.

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

