Hard. And Getting Harder.

Thought I would just share the text I sent few friends after today’s appointment:

Hard just got harder. That appointment was tougher than I expected. For both of us but especially Scott. Dr O maintains a real encouraged spirit about the trials I have access to but reality isn’t good … the cancer is in my lower back, ribs, pelvis plus lungs and pleura of lungs, lymph nodes in chest and lymph nodes near stomach, and one biggish lump in liver plus 2-3 smaller spots on liver. We will move forward w targeted hormone therapies and keep trying different stuff until we see evidence that tumors aren’t growing (in some cases they shrink but that’s rare). Our hope is in JESUS for healing as well as sustaining. Reminded of Daniel 3 where the guys say (my paraphrase) ‘… Our God is able to deliver us [from cancer] but whether He does or doesn’t, we will serve Him anyways…’ We are in shock. Not sure it changes what we knew but just reality sinking in. She said average life expectancy for women w metastatic breast cancer is 2.5 years. Scott prayed (with whole room) and reminded us all that our God isn’t limited to statistics or odds – we KNOW that. But she also encouraged us to ‘do anything that you would want to do…’ (aka bucket list)…

36 thoughts on “Hard. And Getting Harder.

  1. We do not personally know each other, but I want you to know that I am praying for you and your family right now. I admire you. Thank you for sharing your story.

  2. Father, we ask for earthly healing, and we thank you for Jennifer’s Heavenly healing that is a reality. By the power of Your Spirit, we ask for your HOPE to overflow and bless. Comfort and guide. Please send those reminders of Your provision along the way. In Jesus Name. Amen. Xoxox

  3. With God all things are possible!
    Thank you and Scott for showing me what true faith and dependence upon God is. With love and faithful prayers for His perfect will to be accomplished.

  4. this is just beyond heavy stuff…have no words. Just praying for you and your family. I wish the ‘laboratory’ was different but I’m learning what faithfulness to the Lord looks like in the most difficult of seasons through you. I love that Daniel verse. Your on my mind frequently and will continue to just pray.

  5. We love you and we are praying! May God give you the faith to walk this difficult road. May His loving hand comfort you and uphold you…

  6. I found out about your story from following Melanie’s blog. I live in Las Colinas. If you need ANYTHING, please let me know. I am an empty nester and would love to help y’all in any way I can. Your strength is such an encouragement to me.

  7. your example and faith leave me speechless…….know i call out your name over and over all day long and the HOLY SPIRIT forms the words for me because HE knows your every need and when you need it and we put it at the FATHER’S feet to use HIS mighty power as only HE can…….loving you

  8. I also found your story through Melanie’s blog. I live in Dallas (not far from your church). I am willing to help in any way needed. Praying for you and your family.

  9. No matter the circumstance, your faith never seems to waiver and your hope only seems to grow. Knowing that God can, and does, heal all wounds, physical and not, I pray for you. The legacy of devotion and steadfast love for Christ that you’re leaving for Lincoln is simply extraordinary. Your example pushes me to be that kind of mother to my boys and I thank you for that.

  10. I love you, Jennifer. Encouraged and amazed by you and the faith with which you walk through this life. I always have been. Praying for you and your crazy wonderful family.

  11. Sweet Jen, I’m sorry to hear this news, but will remain faithful in prayer with you. Knowing that He uses all things got the good of those who love Him, this hurt will not be wasted. We will pray with expectation that you will be healed and that He will use this to make Himself known to even the greatest doubters of faith. I love you! Warrior on, friend!

  12. Jennifer, my heart is heavy as I read your post. Praying for you and your family during this difficult time that God will give you strength, peace, and comfort as you walk this path.

  13. Isaiah 40:31 New International Version
    but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

    I too came to you from Melanie’s blog. I know way too much about breast cancer including that there are millions of women living with metastatic breast cancer and that my dear friend Jill lived over seven years after her second diagnosis. They were good years, with lots of life and faith in them and medical discoveries.

    My words of advice, do what you love and let others do the work so you can enjoy. You are NOT superwoman, none of us are, so please let people help.

    Praying for you and your family.

  14. Sweet Jennifer, I’m praying a peace that passes understanding for all of you. My heart is heavy with this news, as I know yours are too. I have a three year old boy that has enjoyed Lincoln when he’s been at the Gunters in the past. I would love to keep him ANY TIME. They would have so much fun together! Please let me know if there there is a time I can keep him for you all.

  15. Jen, you are giving to all of us (so many friends) in the midst of this illness (this cancer) by sharing the grace and truth of your story… your journey. You are a living, flesh and blood picture for me of “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.”

    Your beautiful, humble courage is infectious my friend. Julie and I love you, Scott, & “the Lincantor”; we are deeply thankful for the gift of your friendship.

  16. Hey Jennifer, it’s Deanna Fisher. It’s been so long, I know, but I’ve been keeping up with you and your family through Debi Sutton Reed.
    I don’t want to send “I’m sorrys” or
    ” I hate this’s.” They’re so negative and I’m sure you’ve gotten plenty of them anyway, but I did want to reach out. I wanted to tell you how happy I am for you!
    I’m happy you and Jamie have remained best friends all these years. Friendships that long are indescribably special!
    I happy you got to go to and graduate from the college of your choice and so glad it was A&M! (My son’s graduating from A&M in May! Whoop!)
    I’m so glad your career has been this far vibrant, reputable and most important, well respected.
    I’m happy you’re able to share your love of sports (and your faith, I’m sure) with all the girls whose lives’ you touch.
    I happy you married a man ( who even in pictures it’s over-whelmingly clear) loves you at the depth of his soul. A true gift.
    I’m happy, most of all, for the precious blessing you were given the day Lincoln was born. There’s no greater reward than motherhood. To be entrusted by our Heavenly Father with these little souls is a honor.
    So much good. So many blessings. So much more to come. So happy for you.
    I’m not going to pretend to know how you and your family are feeling right now. Difficult is an understatement. I’ve been through many, many trials in my life and what I do know after coming thru them (just as you obviously do) is that our God is a lovingly God. He is gracious. He is merciful. And He’s still in the business of working miracles!! I’ve seen it in my own life.
    Anyway, I just wanted you to know that you, your family and those The Lord has gathered around to care for you, physically as well as emotionally, are in my prayers.
    I know you’ve got the world on your shoulders, so please don’t feel you NEED to respond. I totally understand.
    I just wanted you to know there is an old friend to add to the list of people praying.
    God Bless your Heart.

  17. I Hesitate to write this…..but if you were my daughter I would share any suggestion I rec’d……so…..is your doctor aware of the research that was reported on 60 minutes either last Sunday or the Sunday before……this Dr has developed a treatment that causes the cancer to destroy itself……not sure its close to what you have but I couldnt NOT share……..I’m praying for wisdom for your medical team…..and peace and comfort for you

  18. you don’t know me but you are friends with my daughter and your son is my grandson’s “bestie.” Thank you for bringing them back to church. my husband and I are praying for you – for healing, but most of all for His will and that you will continue to be a shining light to those around you. The verse you quoted from Daniel is a great one because if he pulled those boys out of the furnace, He can heal your cancer. I pray that’s His will. I’m so sorry.

  19. Jenn- I think about you every single day and pray that you will conquer this awful illness. Although I haven’t known you long, I’m am grateful for having met you and am impressed by you incredible spirit and great attitude! I don’t know what your treatment plan is, but I’d love to come sit with you if ever needed! You take care and know that we are always with you.

    Niven

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

