Check. Check. Check. And heart check.

Lab work. Check.
EKG. Check.
Echocardiogram. Check.

2 more things tomorrow:
1. Surgical implantation of my port at 10:30. We aren’t planning for chemo but bone strengthener meds are intravenous and lots of bloodwork and my poor veins are struggling. We can only use my left arm (after lymph nodes removed on right side all blood work and BP type stuff done in left) and different nurses have struggled to get a good stick lately so my doctor and I agreed that a port would be helpful.
2. Eye exam. Something about these drugs has some side effects with eyes so they require an eye exam.

My EKG was normal and the nurse didn’t indicate any problem with my echocardiogram so, hopefully, after tomorrow we will have another ‘check, check’ and all will be clear to start the trial on Monday. The medicines are all oral but require lots of monitoring so, on the first day, and weekly thereafter, we will have several hours of blood draws on Mondays to monitor effects.

I am ready to get started. Maybe it’s just in my head, since I now know this back pain isn’t just carrying a 3 year old, but it seems to hurt more and more – not in the spot where the rib was broken but in my lower back. I am hopeful for the bone strengthener to be helpful as well as the new medicine.

Apart from Echo and EKG, in other heart news, we continue to be supernaturally encouraged, strengthened and at peace! Scriptures from friends and words of encouragement, like Jeff’s that I shared last week, have help set our mind on things above (Col 3:1-2). Along those lines, Scott and I read and re-read these loving and endearing words from our pastor on Saturday. He asked to share our story in the service on Sunday after a sweet visit with us in the hospital last week. I pray this encourages your heart as it did ours.

+~+~+~

Scott and Jennifer..praying for you often and thankful for your readiness for this hour.

Only a fool would choose to enlist in the way you have been called to serve, and only a fool would reject the way God, in His perfection, has prepared for us.

This is not a part anyone would audition for AND it is not a part the divine one would give to “actors”…this is a part only the faithful and ready are given. I am not sure yet where this story goes but I am sure Who has written the screen play and I am sure He is good, He can be trusted and that He makes no mistakes. I am sure it will bring glory to Him and goodness to countless eternities, even if it hastens the beginning of yours. I am sure we won’t always see the perfection of His plan on this side but I am sure it is perfect. I am sure that “As soon as you began to pray, an answer was given…” and I am sure there will be a day when an angel or God Himself will show us what He was doing…and it will be beautiful. (Daniel 9:23).

The Father does not always show us on earth what He is doing in heaven but we are wise to always pray what heaven wants done will be done on earth…even when we can’t recognize it as His doing.

I am sure eternity will be filled with praises for our King, both for the way He answered and the way He did not. We will laugh at the countless times he heard us cry when we imagined that He didn’t and we will fall at His feet and praise Him for the times He said “no” to our prayers when we see that His saying yes would have harmed us and robbed us of good.

If we believe in God’s sovereignty AND goodness, we can be certain that part of heaven will be our ability to continually see clearly, “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been fully known” (1 Cor 13:12). As Alcorn has said, God will be glorified “through our better understanding of human history. We’ll no longer have to cling by faith that “God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God” (Romans8:28, NASB). We will see history as definitive documentation of that reality.”

O Lord hasten the day when our faith will be as sight, and meanwhile thank you that you have come, you have come, Emmanuel.

Love you both and grateful to be your brother in faith, your intercessor in prayer, your friend on the journey and your fellow servant in the war.

A small part of the victory will be seen tomorrow…but every day is a win when we are nearer still to Him.

James 1:2-4 indeed,
Todd

8 thoughts on “Check. Check. Check. And heart check.

  1. Jennifer, bless your Godly spirit, and although “being still” is not in your nature we pray for your strength to continue to be from your loving Father. I still reflect on your tanasity on the basketball court and know you will give your very best in following how your Lord leads you.
    Larry Foster

  2. Love you both. Beautiful words from T-diggity. Learning WITH you about eternity as we endeavor and grow in the faith together.

  3. Praying for your new meds to help with your pain. Just love you and am continuing to pray. We were out of town Sunday, so we missed your video. Please post it on here if you get it. I know everyone would love to see it. Loved reading Todd’s words. Love you all and wishing you a sweet Christmas with Lincoln and Scott.

  4. Praying for you and your family. Prayer works. One year ago a friend was diagnosed with Stage 4, aggressive cancer. Then they found a place on her back they determined they could not treat, and they didn’t. Last week she was found to be cancer free. Only Gid can do that.

  5. I love your fervor to glorify God no matter the outcome. Facing death seems to make being ALIVE so much richer. I know that no matter the outcome that you will have a richness that is gained only from going through the fire. Your passion for God is contagious and will forever effect those you come in contact with. I’m believing that you will not only have quality, but quantity of life! Miracles happen every day and we serve a God who loves to do them! Praying for your pain to subside. Praying for your family to have an amazing Christmas. Standing with you as fear knocks but isn’t invited in. Love you pink sista!

  6. Wow, what powerful words – as are always shared on your blog! You are an amazing light! I am continually left contemplating not only the thoughts of faith but what your reality must be like. My heart fills and hurts and loves and prays for you all at once. Hugs!

  7. Pingback: Belated update. Biopsy tomorrow. Back to normal? | Pink. Pray. Love.

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

