Mini Update.

Thought I would share with all the text I shared with family and few others last night as a quick mini update regarding results from Monday:

I talked to Dr. Osborne. The pet scan confirmed what she called “a bunch of mess” in the right breast – inflammatory breast cancer which is super aggressive (but that’s not new news) and it presents in the skin so distorts the breast considerably. She wasn’t able to compare it to the CT scan to know how recent this growth is. And she didn’t have the MRI results yet. She was also super frustrated with pathology folks at Baylor because the tissue did not get mailed as expected to the research company – who is also motivated to understand what’s going on so I feel like Novartis is also on ‘the team.’  Anyways, tissue just arrived where it needs to be. Hopefully we will have some information at least before we see Dr. Osborne in Houston next Wednesday (25th). She is willing to wait for a week or so to see what the research/pathologies says but it sounds like she is most likely gonna “cut her losses” and consider another course of action. Based on biological markers in my cancer, and there are many (she called it ‘a dirty tumor’ with all kinds of mutations) she thinks there are some viable options. She is leaning towards the chemotherapy she mentioned. I don’t know if the MRI will provide any more information or not – or what different information it provides. She also hopes to go back down to radiology and be able to compare the pet scan to the CT scan side-by-side. in short, it’s definitely not good news. Also, because she can’t do a side to side comparison she isn’t able yet to see if there are significant changes in other areas. Based on the write up from the radiologist, the lesions elsewhere sound similar. But she wants to compare them herself.

She left me a message and then I called her back with Scott on the line so he was able to hear it all too. Definitely very heavy for him. I see more and more of the burden he is caring for me and especially for Lincoln. His prayer, once again, was super sweet and just begging for grace for all of us.

Thanks for joining Scott in praying for grace for us and all the family and friends grieving with us.

32 thoughts on “Mini Update.

  1. Reminding myself of I John 3:20 For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves. With love, prayers, and tears, Kristi

  2. “So be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid and do not panic before them. For the Lord your God will personally go ahead of you. He will neither fail you nor abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:6
    PRAYING this scripture over you, Scott and Linc.
    LOVE you all…

  3. Oh sweet girl, you are an amazing person and thank you so much for giving these updates. I am praying for you and Scott and Lincoln. I pray for your extended family and your precious friends. I pray for your doctors and all who are in the fight! I pray for strength and peace and and courage and things that I can’t even fathom but our Heavenly Father knows my heart and all of ours and knows what and when it is needed. Love you Sweet Girl!

  4. Jen, keeping you and your sweet family in our prayers daily. You are a great reminder that we MUST find our joy in the Lord, not in our circumstances. Our time together yesterday in Bible study was living proof of that. Love you, friend!

  5. Praying for God’s grace and mercies over you, your family, your friends, and doctors who walk beside you daily through this battle with Cancer. May each day bring a new blessing and joy that overpowers the hard circumstances. Much love to you Jennifer!

  6. I am praying for you and Kara Tippetts @ Mundane Faithfulness. I don’t know you ladies personally but my heart is overwhelmed for both of you and so I go to God and pray for you and your families.

  7. I’m on my knees for you, Scott and Lincoln. I still remember the first time I ever heard you pray at church. I thought “that girl must have a hotline or some bat phone to heaven”–your relationship with the Lord is so precious. I know all too well the bad news doctors can give–just remember, God can do anything!! Praying praying. Love you.

  8. Praying for you all — I know how hard it would be on me to watch my husband digest that news as well as try to process it myself while still being a mommy. Bless your heart, praying hard and with hope!

  9. I may be like many of your friends Jen, having to read your latest post more than once to simply let it soak in. David and I have had our own lessons on trusting God even when nothing makes sense circumstantially, but this report still puts a pit in your stomach. I’ve gotta be honest, sometimes “for God’s glory” just gets stuck in my throat. I think the Psalmist David knew a little about that and yet, he continued to be a man after God’s own heart. It’s easy to seek God’s heart when life’s blessings are overflowing, but to continue to do so when facing odds, reports and facts that sadden your soul, it takes a willful determination So, my prayer for you and your family today is to yearn for God’s heart. Ask for His Spirit to fill up your spirit and for His Grace to overflow your troubled hearts. He is Sovereign and He is faithful and even if all else makes no sense at all. I’m standing firm on that anchor and I know you are too! Prayers continue.

  10. “The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” John 1:14 Trusting for more of HIS LIFE in us on this earth to raise these babies!

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

