One Done. 

… And already home sweet home. Went well. No side effects so far. And I am looking forward to a nap! Sweet day with great nurse and great husband and great friend (Angela – see below) and 2 surprise visitors (Hite and CC).  

And, while I was at chemo, my friend Mary Beth had Lincoln at field day. And look at this cuteness… 

Getting instructions… 

And the 3-legged race… 

Maribeth also sent these texts about on his ‘deep thoughts’ today:

–  “Told me earlier about Aslan [he loves him some C.S. Lewis Chronicles of Narnia with his Aunt CC],  that he is just a character and like God.  Also that he hasn’t asked God to take away his sins, not yet, he will later…”

– “He asked me if I was gonna die, He said I wasn’t,  I said heaven will be wonderful… “

– “I said when we die we get to be with Jesus and see Him.  He said ‘no you go on the grass. ‘ I didn’t have a good answer…”

Because our dog, Willie, died last year in our backyard – on the grass and with some excrement, he tells people that “Willie pooped on himself and then died in the grass.” And he thinks that’s the fate of all of us. Not too long ago, he asked me where I was going to die. I told him “I would guess maybe the hospital?” I don’t think that was a good answer because now I think he fears the hospital but I was scared to tell him “at home.” And he responded with a question, “you arent going to die in the grass?” Like Maribeth, I didn’t have a good answer…

It’s so hard to understand what he does and doesn’t grasp and then it is so intriguing when we realize what little points of data and information he is putting together. Rightly or wrongly. The other day he told me that he and Emmy were playing “family.” And he explained that she he was the dad and he was the boy and then said “the mom died.” Of course, this makes me curious and a little bit sad and I responded with, “oh that makes me sad – how did the mom die?” And he said, “I don’t know – it’s just pretend.” He keeps us on our toes. And knees! We pray for his protection above all else. And all these little snippets both amuse me and encourage me. I think it’s really healthy for him to be talking about these things even if, clearly, he doesn’t get the big picture. And, those random comments provide good entertainment.

Thanks for praying with us and laughing with us. We treasure both.

11 thoughts on “One Done. 

  1. Sweet tears for you and Linc and Scott…you are processing so well and so bravely. I just hope you do not die in the grass with poop on you like Willie 🙂
    “May the Lord bless you
    and protect you.
    May the Lord smile on you
    and be gracious to you.
    May the Lord show you his favor
    and give you his peace.”
    Numbers 6:22-26

  2. I laughed out loud when I read his comment about Willie….Children are so blunt it is a hoot. Well, as long as we don’t go like Willie, then that’s a positive!

  3. Such great little stories. Thanks for letting us enter into this journey with you. I love your little Linc so much & pray for him often! (And you & Scott, too, of course!!)

  4. Jen, Never met you, but you are my sister in Christ. I am praying daily for all 3 of you. Your sense of humor and confidence that God is in control are such an example for me. I probably won’t ever meet you here but one day in heaven I am sure we will sing praises together! Praying for you daily in North Carolina!

  5. What an incredible job you have done with teaching Lincoln to love God above all else and that He will protect us. It’s amazing to hear/see their little minds work. Prayers to you and your family for healing, comfort, wisdom, and protection.

  6. Just wanted you to know that I am praying for you. I am a 2 time breast cancer survivor and remember getting pics of my 4 year old while my hubby and I were at doctor appts. She also had so much fun playing which made it easier for me…God certainly brings special people in our lives to help us on the journey.

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

