No Go for Chemo. Again.

I naïvely thought since it had been two weeks since my last chemo that my blood counts would have rallied and it never crossed my mind that I wouldn’t get chemo today. However, a number that is normally 1400 and can’t be below 1000 for chemo was only 100. These are the mature good blood cells in my blood. So it was a quick “no go” for chemo. We reviewed lots of numbers as Dr. Osborne is trying to understand the best course of action. My liver numbers are up (not good) and hemoglobin is down from 12-10 (anemia) and, as mentioned, the ANC was 100 (the last time I didn’t get chemo it was 400). So, instead of chemo I got a shot to stimulate my bone marrow and bone strengthener through port to help with back pain and to maintain activity levels. Now we have to wait until my blood numbers are much higher and there’s availability for chemo appointments. Apparently, they were no remaining appointments available this week but Dr. Osborne then proposed we go over to big Baylor and take chemo there on Friday. So I will do labs again midmorning on Friday and, Lord willing, if my numbers are up we will do chemo at the hospital. With her normal concern and compassion and problem-solving skills, I could tell Dr. Osborne was trying to connect the dots for the best course of action – both short-term and longer-term. We can feel enlarged lymph nodes on the left side under my arm (they have all been removed on right where the breast cancer is) and around my neck and with the elevated liver numbers I know she is concerned about the liver stability and continued spread. We are scheduling another scan for three weeks.

It is another opportunity for me to wait and rest and trust. Right now, all I really want is rest 🙂 So I sign off before, hopefully, a big fat nap! And though Dr. Osborne is slow to get medicine for sleeping she was quick to concede to Ambien for me. Maybe I will get back to my old sleepyhead ways after all.

Your notes and text and prayers and verses m were all an encouragement. The Lord uses His people to continue to set my mind on things above. Thank you.

11 thoughts on “No Go for Chemo. Again.

  1. Jennifer, thank you for continuing to teach us, as you walk this tough journey. Loved Scott’s loving reassurance to Lincoln. Praying Deuteronomy 31:8 for all of you. “And the Lord is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

  2. Dear Jen,
    I read your note earlier this morning but didn’t post since I was running out the door. Now I am posting to say I will be praying for you! You are never far off from my thoughts and prayers. Your desire to love and serve Jesus is so encouraging to me and many others! Your honesty, joy and strength show us what the love of God looks like in everyday life and in the midst of the storm. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your heart with us and giving us the privilege of being on the journey, as best we can, with you!
    With love,
    Dianne

  3. Jen, I have to admit, I read your posts for the encouragement you always provide as well as the updates to guide my prayers for you. I know there must be discouraging moments you navigate along with this journey, but I read the updates and continue to see your faith and trust in a Loving God irrespective of the details, the challenges and the setbacks. You are an example to everyone who knows you of what it really looks like to let your faith be the bridge across troubled waters. Thank you for lifting us up in the midst of this! God, we are seeking YOUR power to overcome these physical limitations, and pray that they are temporary. Please provide wisdom for Dr. Osbourne and healing for Jenifer

  4. Hi Jen! You don’t know me from Adam but have followed your story through Melanie. I have prayed for your journey. Your faith is inspiring. God does provide and I will continue to pray for you and your family. I live in Kingwood, TX and if I can ever do anything to help you when your are in Houston, please let me know. Thank you for sharing your story of faith.
    Patty Kalass
    281-361-3376

  5. Oh, sweet Jen. You know we are praying for you and Scott and especially little Lincoln. Praying for rest and healing so you can get your treatment on Friday. You are such an encouragement to me.

  6. Jennifer – Your words are so encouraging to all of us. I love that verse in Psa 16 that you quoted. “at His right hand there are pleasures for evermore.” You know those comforts and pleasures in Him especially in these hard times. Bev and I are praying daily that He fills your heart with those pleasures and great peace in His love. We love you, Scott and Linc. Craig Morriss

  7. Hey, sweet Jennifer. Please know I keep you and your precious family in my thoughts, prayers and heart daily. May God continue to bless your spirit, your love of life and your inspirational journey. Hugs and gig ’em!

  8. Jennifer, I always read your precious entries to Doug in the mornings. We are praying with and for you and your Scott and Lincoln. You indeed bring glory to your Lord and encourage our faith. Thank you…

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

