CBC

…if you have no idea what that stands for this post may really bore you. For those of you who are my dorky smart medical friends and were excited to see “CBC” I wanted to share my “complete blood count”. I thought a few of you would be easily entertained  with today’s medical report from Baylor. 

I was scheduled at 7:30 for bloodwork (but I can’t get anywhere that early so 7:45 was more like it…) so I could get a shot if needed. The shot has to be more than 24 hours before chemo so there is both a blood numbers and a clock game to play.

Got blood taken and Nurse Christina said ‘white bloods cells are beautiful’ (this includes the ever inportant neutrophils that are helped by the shot I had on Monday). Platelets are on the rise (from 25k to 60k but need to be 100k for chemo – though she said Dr. O would probably approve chemo tomorrow if up to 85k) and red blood cells dropped a bit more to 8.3 (lower normal is 12 and mine have slowly tapered down) so she wants me to take iron. If the hemoglobin (red blood cells) drop to/below 8.0, I will get blood transfusion. We will check again tomorrow and see if it’s 👍 or 👎 for scheduled chemo on Thursday. All in all this is good news and I am hopeful for chemo tomorrow…

And isn’t it so cool and crazy that there’s so much involved and so much ‘life’ in the blood?! Reminds me of my Savior – and the ultimate transfusion. He gave His perfect blood because of my bad blood. And with or without labs drawn, I can assuredly attest to lots of bad blood (selfishness, critical spirit, anger, materialism, impatience…) running through these veins. BUT

 ‘In Him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace’ (Ephesians 1:7). 

And now that I think about it that gives entirely new meaning to “complete blood count”…

‘For in Him [Jesus] lives all the fullness of the Godhead bodily. And you are complete in Him, who is the head of all authority and power’ (Colossians 1:9-10).

Lord Jesus thank you that in your blood I have redemption and fullness of life – with or without cancer. I love you. I trust you. And I thank you!

21 thoughts on “CBC

  1. Oh sweet Jen! You have no idea how much I needed this today! Not only did you lift me up with good news about your counts, but you ministered to my soul which was much needed. God is ALWAYS using you my friend! ALWAYS! Thank you for a being a faithful servant that listens and replies, “here I am God.” Always ready to respond and be obedient. Love you friend and grateful for you in more ways than you know!!
    Praying for you, your family and your counts!!! Xoxoxo

  2. I’ll never think of the blood running through my veins in the same way, thanks to you my faithful, gifted and full of the Spirit friend!!! Continued prayers for you, Scott, Linc and your sweet circle of peeps!! LOVE YOU!!💕

  3. Preach sister!!!! Loved this! Thanks lord for this perfect picture and thanks for the ultimate transfusion!!!!

  4. Amen! “For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and in Christ you have been brought to fullness!” – Colossians 2:9
    Love and prayers!

  5. Thankful with you for Jesus and a complete, total and eternal blood transformation for this dead in her own blood sinner. Resting in His presence through His shed blood. Love to you, dear one.

  6. I too appreciate the blood illustration. Needed that picture today as I am also dealing with some of that bad , diseased blood in my veins and heart!!! Thankful for the complete transfusion He givese daily as I Neeed i so badly!!!

  7. It is simply amazing how you are able to take EVERY circumstance and turn it back to praise God. Every. Single. One. I would never have gone from medical to biblical like you did – words are truly a gift He has given to you!

  8. I have never thought of it this way. What an amazing understanding the Lord gave you and you shared with us. Thank you!! Praying daily for you, Scott, and Lincoln. The Lord and I have several conversations about you when I am running. (-:
    xoxo

  9. You don’t know me but I have been following your blog for about 6 months. You are such an encouragement! My Dad has been battling cancer since June 2014 and it’s good for my soul to read things like what you just posted. God is no doubt doing big things with your story. Prayers for you, your husband, your sweet little boy, and all of your other family and friends. God bless you.

  10. You are brilliant and so gifted. Wow on Jesus being our ultimate transfusion and your ability to see that continually through all this trial. You know this friend knows what CBC means. Sadly I wish it was because I was a dorky smart medical person. 😘. I love you.

  11. Good stuff, Jennifer. Your blog is such a blessing. I’m praying for you.

    Your friend (from Horn Creek),
    Eric McCully

  12. You are a rock and a mentor for so many of us. It would pain you to know that we weep when reading these posts but I, for one, won’t stop. Whether Jesus answers our mortal prayers or calls you home sooner than we wish, He duly notes the ferocity of your faith and your influence on those honored to know and love you.

  13. I love you AND the way you see Jesus in all that you are experiencing…thank you for your constant faith and the way it points me back to HIM

  14. Jen and Scott, ya’ll do not know me, I live in Blairsville, Ga. I heard about you guys through Watermark and was gripped by your story. I found myself pleading with God on your families behalf and more specifically for Jen. Thank you for sharing your love for Jesus and letting us all be a part of your journey. Still praying, Ward.

  15. Love the analogy. There is life in the blood. Amen sister. I rejoice in your numbers coming up so beautifully. God is good!!!

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

