Good numbers!

Yesterday was a great day at the doctor. The numbers that needed to be up were way up and the numbers that needed to be down were way down. In 2 days, my platelets had doubled from 60,000 122,000 and I was a ‘go’ for chemo. And in even better news, the liver numbers, under two different blood tests, continue to drop. I am guessing she had not wanted to alarm me previously so though I knew Dr. Osborne was worried she had not been specific about how high the numbers were relative to the normal range. But in celebrating yesterday she mentioned that one number that was as high as 299 and  is now in double digits. And the other liver function number that peaked at 143 has decreased and is half of that and is now in the normal range. All of this seems to indicate that the tumor is not growing in a way that is impending my quality of life or my quantity of life. This is huge! Thanks Lord!

And how better to celebrate this good news then with a friend giving us free tickets to the Arboretum concert and a little 80s music with a Bon Jovi cover band? Scott and I went with some friends last year for his birthday to see a Journey cover band we loved and thought it would be fun to go back and take Lincoln.  Scott was meeting us there after some time with his guys so Gigi and I loaded the car and Lincoln and the wagon and headed to the Arboretum. By the time we got there and unloaded it looked like this…   

…So much for thinking the little guy would enjoy the concert. He slept for an over an hour like this and then woke up only to transition to this position – my personal favorite. 

Scott surrendered the concert around 9 to take Lincoln home after Linc peed on me while in my arms and he woke up. Nice. Gigi and I decided we were having so much fun and so proud of ourselves for being out past dark that we wanted to stay till the end of the concert. And why should a little urine keep us from more fun together? Gigi, who is not typically very opinionated,  requested we stay until they sang ‘Every Rose Has Its Thorn.’ The weather was perfect and we were overlooking the lake and enjoying hanging out so happy to stay until they played her song. However as the concert wrapped up and they announced their last song as “Bad Medicine” (after being pumped w poison earlier in the day I found this a bit comical), Gigi looked at me confused and then died laughing. We spent the night waiting for the one Bon Jovi song she knew. But it’s a song sung by Poison. We are really hip like that.

But it was great to be with my peeps and be outside and enjoy the extra energy boost of an IV bag of steroids and just feel really really normal. More often than not, I feel totally like the same ol’ Jen and definitely don’t have a top of mind constant awareness of the cancer. There are other moments in which it’s still hard to believe this is our reality – in the infusion room taking chemo or seeing other patients struggle or driving back down to Baylor for the second or third time in a week or big wad of hair in my brush and in the shower and in my hands. But as I send this update I watch our little boy play with magna tiles (thanks Kim!) singing a made up song in a friends amazing backhouse without any nausea or sickness and I find myself overwhelmed with our Lord’s grace and every provision.

One more little thing… Maybe on another post I will explain what some may think is crazy – tearing down your house and building a new one when you have stage four cancer and her days are numbered. The short answer is that this mama bear wants to prepare for her menfolk in every way and also find great joy and partnering with Scott and his greatest area of passion besides flyfishing – designing and building. It also seems really sweet for me to imagine my Heavenly Father preparing a place for me (John 14) while we prepare a place for our family until we are reunited in the Home God prepares.

SO … On May 26 our house will come down.  This is sad and sweet. In the meantime we want to salvage and repurpose and use as much as we can. So this weekend we are taking the shiplap off our walls to reuse in the new house and also opening our doors to sell anything anybody might want from 8 to 12 on Saturday. So come one come all to 6022 Goodwin from 8 to 12 on Saturday (rain or shine!) if you need a water heater or a potty or windows or doors or landscape rocks or sinks or cabinets or dishwasher or light fixtures or anything else our old house still has. Or just to say hi and enjoy a little salvage/demo/garage sale chaos which Gigi has taught me is  a little bit of fun 🙂

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many dwelling places; if it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you. If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also. And you know the way where I am going.” Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, how do we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” (‭John‬ ‭14‬:‭1-6‬ NASB)

16 thoughts on “Good numbers!

  1. Precious pictures Jennifer! Love when you send them so we can see you, Lincoln and Scott. I did laugh at your entry and am glad you had such a great day! Hope your great days continue. Good luck this weekend with your house sale and I hope the weather cooperates. Hugs, Kathy

  2. Thank you for sharing and rejoice in your good news. This is SO encouraging to me this morning, as I see you make the most of every moment with the people u love–feeling well AND feeling sickly.

  3. Hi Sweet Girl! Sounds like you had such a wonderful time. So glad that you did. Glad numbers were/are really good right now. Sounds like a lot going on with your house and am happy for all of you. Take care of yourself. Praying for you and your family and friends. Hugs and Kisses!

  4. I love that “Bad Medicine” (i.e. poison), brings “Good Numbers”! Love you and hope the salvage sale is a big success!

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

