Little lesion and little surgery.

The quick update can be cut and paste from text to friends this afternoon (6.30) after met w neurosurgeon:

Wow. Dr Barnett was freakin amazing – smart and kind and engaged and patient. And offered me to call him or come to his home if needed anything?! Clearly smart and in the brain surgery world this is on the low difficulty scale w incredible technology. Meet w radiologist tomorrow and these 2 docs plus Osborne will confirm plan. Hopefully scheduled for next week. Truly grateful.

Tomorrow, 7.1, I meet w my radiologist from previous treatments, Dr Cheek, and then we will begin scheduling.

As noted above, I think this is very simple in the world of complex brain surgeries. And I think this combo of doctors is amazing and a blessing! I pulled the connections card late on Sat night when I realized the doctor that had been scheduled was in same practice with a doctor (Barnett). He goes to our church, did Matt Chandlers brain surgery, was the surgeon my friend Miriam worked for as his PA (and she adored and admired him!), and I know his wife. I texted her and asked if she would ask him about doing my surgery (or  ignore my text if that was awkward and I would then have just pretended I didn’t ask…). But she texted back real quickly offering to help and first thing Monday morning his office called with an appointment. Scott, Jamie and my mom were there and we all felt the same – wow. My mom summarized it by saying ‘I don’t think an appointment with a neurosurgeon could possibly have gone better.’ I agree.

The surgery is really just a fancy math equation by a super smart physicist  probably done in the bowels of Baylor and the doctors just show up and push the button. It has very few side effects and is very effective for tumors under 3cm (and mine is .9cm). It was wild to see my brain on the screen and we could clearly see the tumor (or ‘lesion’ in medical terms) as well as the skull fractures though I think chemo will continue as the course of action for tumor activity in the bones.

Despite being weird to even be in the waiting room of a neurosurgeon (and then funny to see people we know there!), it was as great as weird can be.

And this morning we had a really fun time studying Heaven with friends (and personally fun for me that my high school friends and old coworker from Andersen and old neighbor and college friend were all there!) and getting sooo excited about where I am headed and the joy of being reunited one day with those there that I love and those of you that will come a little later. I feel like the Lord is making me ever more grateful for salvation through Christ and ever more excited about seeing Him soon. But, until that  day, I really enjoy the sweet gifts of my family and friends and fellowship in Him. And understand these words from Paul more than ever:

“For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know! I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far; but it is more necessary for you that I remain in the body. Convinced of this, I know that I will remain, and I will continue with all of you for your progress and joy in the faith.” Phil 1:21-25

Goodnight friends and families. You are a gift and a blessing and the reason I am happy to continue alongside you for our progress and joy in the faith.

PS Truly, any of you ladies of all ages are welcome to come to Northwest Bible at 930a on Tuesday mornings to discuss heaven with us. My friend Kay will lead next week’s discussion and then I will lead our last discussion on 7.14. Come one, come all.

19 thoughts on “Little lesion and little surgery.

  1. Love you dear friend. Thankful for your experience today. Your perspective is a beautiful spirit-filled picture of faith.

  2. Jennifer, I have seen Dr. Barnett and he did a back surgery on my husband. He is WONDERFUL and godly and we love him! You are in good hands as I know he places each of his patients in the Lord’s hands and allows Him to use him! Praying for you!

  3. Continue to pray for you and your loved ones. Heaven is very real to me, as my only-born child is there…. I pray that Jesus will gift you with more time with your own son, but know that we will be reunited in The End. As Tolkien wrote, “everything sad will come untrue.” God bless you with faith and overflowing peace…..
    Paige in illinois

  4. Jennifer, Julie and I continue to pray for you and your family. You are amazing in always pointing us to Christ! Thank you. We love you, Russ & Julie.

  5. You are a blessing, Jennifer, and an inspiration to so many! May God continue to bless you and your family through this journey.

  6. Praying continuously for favor and wisdom and comfort sweetie. You are such a warrior. Dr. Cheek, Dr. Barnett … How we admire them! Part of Patricks incredible team. Godly men. They have such wisdom and warrior hearts as well. Love you Casey

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. I am praying for you and completely impressed by you. You are a blessing to me and we do not even know each other. Thanks always for the updates.

  8. You truly are blessed and a blessing to others… Praying for more time well spent with your lovies… Would you care to share the name of the Bible Study you are doing on heaven? Very much interested in studying 🙂 and not near Dallas… TIA 🙂

  9. Again, I am so sorry I do not know you personally (I work and am friends with Randy and Debbie Jeffers), however, I love your heart and your courage and your amazing love of Jesus! Thank you for sharing and I pray for your continued optimism and courage through this journey!

  10. Your ability to continue to see and seek the good in this is an inspiration. Continuing to pray for you, your family, and friends. Your family is on my heart so much after reading this post. Praying strength and peace for them and you.

  11. Are you having Gamma Knife done? Praying it all goes well. I worked for 8 years with neurosurgeons who did GK. Great procedure! 🙂 Blessings!

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

