Short…and sweet

Hi guys – this is Jamie again.  Jen asked me to update all of you who have been so kind to text, call and pray about her radio surgery which took place today.  The good news is that the procedure literally took about 8 minutes (SHORT) and she came out of the operating room looking like a rock star.  That is, if a rock star wears a mask like this.

IMG_5930

Seriously.  Don’t we love our Jen?  And even though we keep tossing around that it’s ‘only 8 minutes’, let’s be clear that 8 minutes might not feel so short if you are relegated to this position.

IMG_6801

And in this room.

IMG_6800

And even though Baylor has valet parking (so I heard), don’t let that fool you.  It’s still a hospital. And whether you are there for 8 minutes or 8 days, you usually don’t let the door hit you on the way out so to speak.

For those of you who like the short version (i.e. all the guys), all you need to know is the surgery was ‘uneventful’ and Jen will have a follow up MRI in 3 months to make sure the lesion hasn’t grown (best case scenario is that it has shrunk or even disappeared).

For those of you who like the longer version, let’s get to it.  (The teachers at FBA who taught Jen and me would confirm that neither of us is short on words, so this blog serves as the perfect outlet.  You can decide if that’s fortunate or unfortunate).

Jen’s posse arrived at Baylor close to 2:15 today (SWEET) and quickly moved outside the intended waiting room due to all of the stares from the other patients.  (It’s clear that Jen approaches cancer differently than most others and may be known to cackle loudly or smile excessively.)  Even (especially) prior to brain surgery.

We quickly discovered that our landing area had amazing light and we all started taking pictures with Jen.  (No wonder she owns that rock star persona).

IMG_5914

Jen & Sheila

IMG_5919

Jen & JuJu

IMG_5918

Jen & Jen

IMG_5916

Angela, me, Jen & Amy (the chemo crew)

IMG_5917

Jen & Scott

(Several other sweet friends were in attendance but showed up after the impromptu photography shoot.  Let’s just say I bet now they are glad they did.)

I was deathly afraid to look back into the original waiting room (just on the other side of us through the FULL GLASS PANES) to see how many patients were now staring at us for other reasons.

After about an hour and 45 minutes, they finally came out to get Jen for her procedure.  Sweet Ramona made sure to brief the obnoxious crowd group on what was about to happen.

IMG_5925

And poor Ramona didn’t know that she was about to fall victim to a good lighting scenario.

IMG_5926

Jen went back for surgery, where she just happened to meet the physicists who worked on the formula for her brain radiation.  I’d say these were pretty important people, and apparently Jen thought so too, so – shocker – she got her picture with them as well.

IMG_6804

Jen & Andre

IMG_6805

Jen & Dana

Unfortunately the basement doesn’t provide ideal lighting, but we are so grateful for these geniuses that we will overlook that.

Once the surgery was finished, Jen walked out with a huge smile on her face and a grateful heart (I didn’t actually confirm this, but I know her well enough to know this is probably the case).    We all prayed in a circle and thanked God for no complications and for the love of friends & family.  With each step on this path, gratitude is ever present.

Thank you again for all of your prayers and encouragement.  I know they are felt and appreciated by Jen, Scott & little Linc.

In closing, I will leave you with a verse that continues to come to mind throughout this journey.

“Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23

Much love to you all,

Jamie (“B”)

IMG_5922

18 thoughts on “Short…and sweet

  1. Oh thank you for the update. Every word of it, including the crossed out words. Such beauty in the angelic voices (and faces) of a community surrounding a sister and her family in the midst of a trial. What if each person in that waiting room would have had the same? Praying from a few states away.

  2. How is it that I am reading about a precious woman being put through the wringer with cancer, and jet I am laughing out loud and smiling as I read about it. The photo montage of everyone in the “good” light is priceless. And I am so glad to know what a smart physicist looks like – not really scary at all! There is none like you, Jennifer, that truly radiates such peace in the midst of such a storm. We truly love you.

  3. Jennifer, I have followed your blog for about 6 mths. and am constantly amazed and inspired by your story. I pray for you often and your precious family. I remember all the great times we had when you and Todd were at FBC and you would come over to Memots house. You have not changed one bit…precious as ever. You are a bright light in this dark world! Thank you for being such an encouragement and an inspiration in these trying times.

  4. So grateful for the update -I did not know it was to be afternoon surgery so I was driving everyone crazy all day wanting to know how she did. I so appreciate your news-and excited that it went well. She is amazing! Love to all.

  5. It seems like I am always going thru some “stuff” and then the Lord leads Jen to post an update……reminding me my “stuff” is nothing compared to Jen’s and She is a pillar of strength in Christ…….thanks for the update…..thanks for being you…..prayers continue

  6. Jen, you continue to inspire and encourage me (and many others) as you navigate your journey. We all know your ultimate destination (Heaven) but are selfishly enjoying all of stops and “layovers” and I’m hopeful they continue for many years. Love from the Laniers.

    PS – not sure if you’ve seen the worksheet Lily Ruth did at church last week, but you made both lists! “Things I PRAY for:” and “Things I am THANKFUL for:”

  7. Thanks for the update, Jennifer via Jamie. I was wondering how it all went. You post was wonderful to read and love all the pictures. Thank you also for the verso at the end… very meaningful in our journey with Jennifer.

    Kathy

  8. I had somehow forgotten to be grateful in my own journey somewhere back in the fall, when my own battle with stage 4 lymphoma seemed won but for some reason my blood pressure started going bim-wacky. That made for a long and frustrated winter and spring, and when my heart also started tweaking in late May, the frustration only ramped further. Now, a possible recurrence of the lymphoma and a radio biopsy scheduled for yesterday had me fretting wildly–but then I suddenly remembered to just breath and thank God for all of the incredible that my life has been. The test went well–easy-peasy!–and best, my blood pressure and heart rate were strong and stable all day long. Gratitude: amazing tool.

  9. I am always so thankful to be included in this journey with you and your family albeit from a distance. The blogs and pictures make me/us feel somehow that we are right there with you. So grateful for the circle of friends you have to support you, near and far. You are a constant encouragement to what God can and is doing. We thank God for every remembrance of you!!

    Philippians 1:3-11King James Version (KJV)

    3 I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,

    4 Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy,

    5 For your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now;

    6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

    7 Even as it is meet for me to think this of you all, because I have you in my heart; inasmuch as both in my bonds, and in the defence and confirmation of the gospel, ye all are partakers of my grace.

    8 For God is my record, how greatly I long after you all in the bowels of Jesus Christ.

    9 And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment;

    10 That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ.

    11 Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God.

  10. I just want to thank you and Jen for all of these updates. I so look forward to reading then. My prayers are unending and I am so grateful for the brain surgery going so well. Sending hugs and loves to u all.

    Ashley cray

  11. 1 Thes. 16-18
    Always be JOYFUL.
    Never stop PRAYING.
    Be THANKFUL in every circumstance, for this is the will of God for you who belong in Christ Jesus.

    Jennifer….I’m joyful that the surgery went well, continuing to pray for you and yours, and thankful for God’s provisions! SWEET! 😘

  12. Now that’s the kind of friends everyone should have, the kind of surgery to have (if you have to have surgery) and the kind of God everyone should know! We are always praying! Norm and Beth

  13. Jen, the lesion may have been radiated, but YOU, beautiful one, are RADIATING the Lord Jesus Christ! I am thanking God with all of you for the good report, and pray God’s continued and complete healing to your body! Much love, Susan Lewis

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

