A little ditty about Jen and chemo…

Far less interesting than Jack and Diane but it will definitely be ‘little’ because I don’t feel so great tonight. I’m learning the pattern of these drugs…

Days 1-2: feel pretty good thanks to anti nausea and steroid IV drugs

Day 2-3: bones ache and tired girl (slept until 10:30 today and really thankful that little man was worn out from fun friends and play dates so he was curled up beside me sound asleep too…)

Day 3-4: little headache and little nausea and torn between wishing for throw up to put me out of my misery and totally hoping it never comes…

Right now I am on the couch headed to bed and hoping I don’t leave another throw up trail on the gorgeous rug in the backhouse (if you’ve been over to our new digs I know you just cringed!)

I only got one of the 2 drugs I normally get (gemzar and carboplatin) because of a concern about carboplatin so soon after the brain procedure. I am hoping that this means a little reprieve in side effects?

Also, in our doctors appointment on Monday, we learned that we are changing treatment courses again. She’s not liking the brain lesion and referred to my cancer as ‘clever’ in its ability to get around our intended roadblocks. She’s plotting and planning and partnering with Dr. Osborne in Houston to decide the next action steps. We leave for Colorado (our 5th year with friends and precious folks at Horn Creek and a second week at YoungLife camp at Crooked Creek with our dear friends the Manos’) and will be home on Aug 2nd for another round of this ‘cocktail’ on Aug 3rd plus another CT scan that week. So, we should have more information after Colorado. And between now and then I hope to send lots of smiling faces of our family enjoying each other, the mountains, and the beauty of our God.

Thanks for the ways you pray for us, love our little man with play dates and gifts, encourage us and walk alongside us.

Also, a sweet week finishing our Heaven study and to you ladies that joined us please know (again!) what a precious 7 weeks that was for me … My heart and head and soul are well prepared for many more years with you all or “being absent from the body and present with the Father” as Paul wrote. And if you’re a guy who couldn’t come or out of town or just curious, you can click here to listen to the discussions thanks to my dear friend Eraina!

Love!

10 thoughts on “A little ditty about Jen and chemo…

  1. I’m praying for a nice trip to Colorado for you guys. Perfect place to be during the summer!!!! Hope you feel better tomorrow. xoxo

  2. Thank you so much for posting and updating. I am following and always anxious to know the latest. Nothing screams of God’d greatness to me like his creation and the mountains have no shortage of it! Praying fr you and for an amazing trip!

  3. Bless you and family in all you do. Prayers and more prayers are said for you every day.. Jen, you are one strong girl but are so close to the Heavenly Father how can you not be strong. Your faith is so wonderful. He will look after you forever.
    Your friends are amazing. I just wish I was there to help in some small way.
    Here is hoping you will feel your very best and enjoy the trip with friends.
    Sending my love to you and your family. Anisse

  4. I hate that you are going through this – I appreciate that you are not alone! When do you leave for Colorado? I hope you have a great trip and now our boy will love being outdoors – fishing? Maybe not so much unless someone else helps him with the bait! Love you, Mom

  5. While I don’t know you personally, I am always thinking about you and praying for you. You make the small bumps i have in the night seem so insignificant and I admire your courage and strength and most of all your faith in God. Bless you and your sweet family on your travels – enjoy every breath you take!

  6. Dear Sweet Jen I hope you and your family have a wonderful vacation. I know that you and your family need a break and can’t wait for the fun times ahead. Continuing to pray for you and your sweet precious family.

  7. Hope you all have a wonderful trip Jennifer! You all deserve to have some fun and relax! Prayers that you have a safe and healthy trip with wonderful friends and lots of sunshine!

    Hugs, Kathy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. Hi, Jen,

    I got here through Melanie’s blog, and have been deeply touched by your faith and trust in God. Will be praying and remembering you and your family in this time. Thanks for your courage and praise God for working through you to encourage many.

    Blessings,

    Jackie

  9. Jen, I hope you and your family a nice vacation. My prayers are with you. Miss your beautiful smile at Lifetime fitness.

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

