On the Rockies road again…

We rolled out of family camp at Horn Creek this morning and are on the road again. I think Scott likes my family camp idea (my idea 5 years ago because my childhood best friend, Jamie, has been going as long as I can remember…) just because it’s a good reason to drive. I also think he takes advantage of my complete-geographical-ignorance-and-confusion despite being in Colorado dozens of times. He always picks the scenic route I am pretty sure sometimes we go out of the way so he can burn more gas and get more views and feed his wanderlust. It used to annoy me (and truthfully on any given day that’s still possible…) but there’s something about the wide open spaces and big mountains and fresh air and blue skies that breathe life into my man’s soul. And, for that, I am grateful. We sometimes bicker because he can’t stand for me to read or text because he wants me to share in every new view and gets fussy if I miss one and I just want him to quit interrupting because ‘hello, can’t a girl just read a book?!’ Apparently not…

Family camp was super fun and restful and good times with our family (including my mom this year…), our friends from home (Jamie’s big family and the Dawkins and the Mattlages) plus our Horn Creek ‘family’ from Kansas and Missouri and lots of other places. Really special people and a really special week and every year we are more sad to leave. I asked Lincoln what his favorite part of the week was and he said ‘everything…’ I thought that was lame so I tried again, ‘what was most special about the week…?’ And he replied with ‘being with my friends.’ Everything is better together! Love him. Some of the ‘everything’ was trying to trap chipmunks, building forts, playing in the creek, fishing, hiking, tennis baseball, rock climbing, train ride through the gorge, volleyball (he thinks he ‘played’ because we congratulated his ‘dig’ every time he threw his full body into the sand face first…) and lots of early mornings and late nights with constant companions of all ages.

Here are some pics with the people that, as Lincoln said, made everything special…

… family pic after hiking at Garden of the gods

  

…Building a fort with friends


… hiking with tired (and heavy!) little people

 
 

…Mama and me

  

…water slides with Hunter

  

…hangin’ with my peeps at Kraus cabin

  

… great views and great friends

  

…sweaty and tired and happy after tennis baseball

  

…precious and fun friends

  

…our menfolk

  

…train ride with ‘my big friends’

  

…playing in the stream

  

…whip cream and chocolate and pancakes and friends

  

…we love Norm and Beth!

  

… rock climbing w my ‘bestest girl’ EmmyKate

 
Thanks for letting me spam you with photos! Pretty cute huh? Everyone looks better and happier in Colorado with people they love.

One night during our standing spades challenges, I found a lump in my neck. It’s nice to have doctors for friends and Trevor confirmed what I expected – we both think it’s an enlarged lymph node. I texted Dr Osborne and we’ve now added the neck to our nex CT scan that they have scheduled for Aug 5. Have I mentioned that I love my doctor? On Friday, she was also emailing our very respected (and unrelated) Dr. Osborne in Houston with all the scan info and treatment responses the last few months so that they could review my case together and decide the next course of treatment. Also so thankful for Dr. Osborne and his team and their interest and help!

Our next stop: camping! Like real camping with tents and campfires and a 4 year old.  I vascillate between nervous and excited for the adventure. Definitely not my idea. But Scott has deferred to me the last few years and we’ve visited our camping friends but never spent the night … Until tonight! I can do anything for 48 hours right?! And I am a little torn because if it goes really well Scott will want to do it again but I don’t really want to have a miserable 48 hours to convince him otherwise!

In middle of that last sentence Scott spotted a fox in a field. Love it. We also saw a ring tailed cat earlier this week and of course lots of deer. Still holding out for a bear! But maybe not while we are camping….?

Thanks for the prayers for refreshment and rest for our family. I haven’t had as much alone time with the Lord as I would enjoy but sure have enjoyed the good gifts of His creation and His people – they are precious reminders to our souls that He is big and capable and in control and takes cares of us and loves us!

O LORD, our Lord, your majestic name fills the earth! Your glory is higher than the heavens. You have taught children and infants to tell of your strength, silencing your enemies and all who oppose you. When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers— the moon and the stars you set in place— what are mere mortals that you should think about them, human beings that you should care for them? Yet you made them only a little lower than God and crowned them with glory and honor. You gave them charge of everything you made, putting all things under their authority— the flocks and the herds and all the wild animals, the birds in the sky, the fish in the sea, and everything that swims the ocean currents. O LORD, our Lord, your majestic name fills the earth! (‭Psalms‬ ‭8‬:‭1-9‬ NLT)

10 thoughts on “On the Rockies road again…

  1. Ok……if I was camping I would look like a troll…….you guys look like an ad for the great outdoors……….seriously love the photos

  2. I’m ready assuming HC is fancier than horshoe canyon ranch since I spied guys in button down shirts. Huh? I think ours was more low brow after all!!!! 🙂 love the pics… EK and lincoln are an edible couple. And your mama looks beautiful in the mountains! Maybe Colorado is good for her too! Love u and praying for August 5.

  3. Love the pics!! Glad for yalls time outdoors in the mountains. Sad to hear of this new development. Ugh. Prayers continue. Stay safe and away from the bears.

  4. Thank you so much for sharing these great pictures! My Young Life team had a running joke after Young Life camp that everyone looks better with a green background. I really think it is true! 🙂 So glad y’all had fun! Will be praying for your scan on August 5. Love!

  5. Sounds like a wonderful time, well with the exception of the lymph node mess. Sorry about that but good that you are going next week for your CT scan. Loved all of your pictures. Looked like everyone had a great time. Continued prayers for you Jen and for that sweet husband and precious little boy and for the extended family and many friends.

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

