Scan and Next Steps

Dr. Osborne called tonight (after a house call … How amazing is that in 2015?!) and gave a general overview of the CT results:

– 2 larger lesions in liver are smaller

– 4-6 new lesions in liver

– small mass in lungs (slightly bigger than previously seen on scan)

– neck nodes don’t appear to be cancer but confusing/different when compared to other side

Between the neck and the differing results in liver, we are in the realm of the bizarre. She wishes she could get tissue (via liver biopsy) from both the new lesions and bigger ones but, in her words, ‘don’t want to make you a pin cushion.’ So, though we had a liver biopsy scheduled for Thursday, we are going to skip that. She is debating a PET scan (I vote yes…) to get another look at the neck and see if anything else shows up. 

She was most encouraged by the reality that things are, overall, not advancing quickly and, as she said, ‘we seem to have gained the benefit desired from this recent chemo…’ She seems to approach this in a ‘whack a mole’ fashion where she uses one tactic until she has another/better idea and then she ‘pounces’ with a new drug. One of the anti-hormone drugs I haven’t yet been on is called Fasladex and the Houson Dr. Osborne thought it was a bit superior to Letrozole and Anastrazole (I’ve had both) but, to date, in conjunction with the other meds I’ve needed and the trials, Fasladex wasn’t an option. Now, our Dallas Dr. Osborne told us there is a Phase 1 trial just opened at Baylor that has a component that, at least in mice (did I just type that?), works similarly to Fasladex but with even better results (at least in those poor mice).  And this new drug is one of the few drugs that has shown to penetrate the blood/brain barrier that could help with my brain metastasis. She also likes this trial because, in contrast to the previous trial I was on, she can increase the dosage if I show ‘stable disease’ (doesn’t have to shrink but just can’t get worse) and don’t have ‘toxicity’ issues (their way of describing my bodies ability to tolerate it without terrible side effects). So … She has requested that I get the one open slot right now (and there are other doctors hustling for it). There are some outstanding questions about my eligibility but she has already started those conversations and hopes to get me slotted by end of the week. I would likely have a ‘detox’ period based on last dosage of anti hormone drugs and last chemo. But as long as I have signed papers and Dr. Osborne has signed them we would be considered ‘on the trial’ – even though I may have a couple of weeks before I can actually have the medicine. It is a pill and not IV chemo so that’s a plus. Though we know that pill taking isn’t one of my strengths. And the research coordinator is the same rock star and beloved nurse I had before on the last trial. She’s probably not as excited about having me as I am about having her! But that is for sure a bonus. 

Dr. Osborne said I could text her back by Thursday if she hasnt yet reached out to us regarding the additional information she requested from the trial people. Hopefully, we will have some clarity by the end of the week. As a friend said today, ‘none of this extends beyond the Providence of the Lord’. Amen. I know nothing can thwart His plans and purposes (Job 42:1) and He is the One that puts me in the trial or not and He is the One that is able to make the medicine work or not and He is the One who has already numbered my days (right, Doug/Jeannie?😉) … So we wait. And, thankfully, we can rest. Our God is good.

“Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. This I declare about the LORD: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; he is my God, and I trust him. For he will rescue you from every trap and protect you from deadly disease. He will cover you with his feathers. He will shelter you with his wings. His faithful promises are your armor and protection.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭91:1-4‬ ‭NLT‬

7 thoughts on “Scan and Next Steps

  1. Jennifer, I am so fervently praying for your complete confidence in God to give you the strength and faith for your challenge. Keep the faith and keep us posted in your joy that God is calling all the ways we can depend on Him.
    Larry Foster

  2. Amen, Jennifer. I’ve never been more confident of God’s sovereignty. I love the health care providers, the drug trials, etc., but I love even more knowing Who makes all things possible. Love and Prayers.

  3. Thank you so much for the detailed update Jennifer. We will be praying that for smooth sailing into that open spot for the trial. And for our Father’s continued peace and comfort.

  4. Love you, Jenn. And is it silly that I can hear your voice talking while reading this just like it was when you were chatting away at PRO for MOD across the sea of cubicles? Praying for you daily sweet girl. You have amazing Faith with a capital F and you live it daily. Thank you for being an inspiration to us all.

  5. Yes you are officially off vacation.
    Here we go again.
    Thanking the Lord WITH you as He extends His arms, hands, and feet to extend your days here on this earth before you arrive at your final detonation. Love you friend.

  6. You have surrounded yourself with wise friends: ” ‘none of this extends beyond the Providence of the Lord’. Amen” Praying for you b/c of your friend, Mel and her book about friends!

  7. Each time I read your post I fill more and more that “My God is Able” but I feel inadequate in my comments back to you after your amazing, heartfelt , uplifting and ever faithful in your belief in Our God. How do you comment back to someone who I feel in awe of and I’m the one who Does NOT have cancer. Thank you for your inspiration and thank you for allowing me to be part of your life, your very personal struggles in life. Prayers for you Sweet Jen and your precious medical team and this trial, if it is God’s Will, and your sweet family and friends. Love Cathy.

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

