Update from Pickens 518

Hi there.  This is Jamie with an update on our precious friend.  Let’s just say before I begin, I continue to marvel at her strength and resilience throughout this journey. 

Last Tuesday I offered to drive Jen to her Bible study and instantly knew something was different when she walked to the car.  She looked frail and unsteady.  There was no way Jen was going to miss bible study, however, so despite her condition we championed on.  She was scheduled to lead that day, but on the way there she mentioned she might not be up for the task.  Thankfully the Lord orchestrated our arrival to coindcide with Kay’s so that Jen could ask if she’d take over right there in the foyer of the church.  Throughout Bible study, Jen closed her eyes and listened intently to God’s word being spoken over her.  Or she slept sitting up.  Either way, we made it through with no complications.  On our way home, Dr. Osborne called and wanted to have her blood drawn, so we rerouted and made our way to Baylor. 

Wednesday we headed back to Baylor for Jen’s first round of the new regime of chemo – taxotere.  (Her hemoglobin level wasn’t quite where it needed to be for a new trial that was originally an option, so chemo was the chosen course of treatment).  She was still very weak and her pain level had increased significantly, which was extremely hard to witness.  She went back home, where a few friends gathered for lunch.  Thankfully, Jen felt like eating so we were slightly encouraged.  Then a long nap was in Jen’s future (which is becoming more and more her norm).  

Thursday Jen rallied to go see her grandmother with Hite, and managed to eat a sandwich.  (I realize that’s a random detail, however when your friend has lost approximately 15-20 pounds in the last few weeks, it becomes quite significant.) With her increase in pain, her pain medicine was also increased.  She then slept most of the afternoon. 

Friday, Jen was complaining of significant pain especially with deep breaths. Difficult day for sure.  

Saturday, her pain was about the same as long as she remained inactive.  But by that evening, she began throwing up.  This continued through the night and into Sunday.  

After a phone call to Dr Osborne, prayer,  and much contemplation Scott decided to take Jen to ER.  Jen received fluids for dehydration, anti nausea meds, pain killers and a blood transfusion.  Nice little cocktail, don’t you think?  Well, it worked!  She’s now doing much better and feels good, which is key.  A brain MRI was ordered as was a GI scope to look down her throat and into her stomach – looking for en explanation for the pain and episodic nausea.

Dr. Osborne just came in the room, and I think she did the equivalent of a physician toe touch.  (Pam Merryman you’d be proud!).  She was so excited because Jen’s brain scan showed that her lesion and even any scarring of that lesion were gone.  Thank you, Lord!

We are still waiting on the results of her GI scope, which we expect later today.  In the meantime, rest is crucial for her to regain strength in order to return home.  The best way to show her love and support at this time is your continued prayers – or if you want something tangible, a text, note (6022 Goodwin 75206) or even comment on this blog would bless her too.  We will make sure she hears each one.  Please refrain from visiting so Jen can get back to being Jen as soon as possible.😊

Jen and Scott appreciate all of your prayers, concern, and babysitting more than you know.  I feel like I have a front row seat to the most beautiful concert of generous possible.  What an amazing example you all are of God’s love for us.  Unwavering, unconditional, abundant and ALWAYS available.  Thank you for loving my friends, and for taking care of their  sweet (& spunky) four year old.  Even HE gets to enjoy the cool hospital bed.  

With a grateful heartπŸ’™,

Jamie (aka B)

“May your unfailing love be my comfort…” Psalms 119:76

88 thoughts on “Update from Pickens 518

  1. Thank you so much for the update Jamie. We are praying for Jen (and ALL of you!) daily and then some. So much love sent your way from the Covingtons.

  2. Wow so grateful to hear abt the disappearance of the brain lesion!! Praise God!!
    I am praying for renewed strength and no more nausea and pain. 😘. Thank u for the update… I think of you SO often, wondering how you are.

  3. I linger on every word of these posts and pray for you and your family constantly. I am blessed to call you friend and marvel how God continues to use your for HIS glory. I’ve never met Linc (which I hope changes) but have grown to love the blond, spunky boy through this written journey and am trusting that God will use this as a part of his story, too. Praying for you this second. I love you, my fellow Pioneer Girl, and am thankful that many of my fun childhood memories include you. I look forward to the next post and next chapter of improvement! xoxo

  4. so thankful for a bit of energy! we missed you SO much today and know you will love hearing the singing & videos from today when you can! Love YOU! >

  5. Thank you for the update. I don’t know the Clouse family personally, but I’ll never forget Jen’s message at the Watermark Women’s Retreat in 2012. What a blessing she is as God shines thru her. I’ve also used her words thru this blog as a source of encouragement for some friends whose mom is battling cancer as well and not doing well. Thank you for your words Jen, and to all those contributing on this blog. Continuously praying, never ceasing.

  6. Dear Jamie – Thank you for the update. I check every day as I am afraid I won’t get a notification of a new post. Dear Jen: I don’t “know” you, but I love you. One Fine Day my sister.

  7. We continue to pray for precious Jennifer, Scott and Linc. What a warrior, you are, Jennifer, and an inspiration to so many. Hugs and prayers to you!

  8. Jen, Ben and I having been praying for you often, as well as for your sweet family. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself and His Grace in this amazing blog.
    Love,
    Kim

  9. Jen you have been on my heart – I have only read your journey this last year but between Melanie’s blog and your blog I feel like I am on this journey with you. You are in my prayers and so is your beautiful family. Your faith, family and friends are inspiring and so grateful you have the support you need during this part of your journey. God Bless all of you – Praying for healing and strength. – Amy

  10. “For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.” II Chronicles 16:9

    Thank you for being so committed to HIM, that you are sharing your heart throughout this journey! I will continue to lift you in prayer, and wish you peace and comfort. xoxo, Lucinda

  11. Tears of joy, prayers for Jen. We’ve never met, but I feel privileged to pray for and see how God speaks through her and answers prayer. (Which we continue from Dallas)

    Thank you for the update.

  12. Jen, Scott & Family…so happy Jen is feeling better! Your story is an inspiration to me and keeps me going! I will continue to pray!!!

  13. So glad to hear of some relief and as sorry to hear of your suffering. Praying for more relief and energy for being you. Love always, danya

  14. I don’t know Jen personally. I stumbled upon her blog awhile back.. Don’t remember how. Her honest writing and her love for God has kept me reading along as she fights this fight. She is truly inspiring and I find myself thinking about this complete stranger often. Praying for you Jen, that you will feel the best you can, that you and your family will feel peace in your hearts. Thank you for “putting it all out there”. I have learned so much. God DOES love each of his children.

  15. Sending prayers. Thank you for your courageous spirit and wonderful example of faith and hope for me (and all of us)- Amy Stephenson (Mo Mo’s aunt) xoxo

  16. Thanks for the update Jen. Hugs to Jennifer, Scott and sweet Linc. We will continue to pray and ask for God’s blessings on them. Let us know if we can do anything at all.

  17. I continue to keep you in my prayers. I wish I could do more for you. You are the most amazing woman! I am so sorry you are having to endure such a terrible battle.Your strength and attitude inspire me to try to be a better person and to be grateful for God’s gifts every day. ❀

  18. Tears, prayers and heavy heart as I think of you ALL the time!
    Much love and we hope to see you soon! Dede’s good food will be ready for ya πŸ™‚

  19. I look forward to reading each and every updates. So many prayers and much love for all of you! – Meredith Little Lowery

  20. Keep fighting the good fight Jen and the Clouse family. You not only have an amazing circle of friends and others praying for you in Texas, but your reach is far beyond that. Your courage, grace and unwavering faith in God’s plan is truly remarkable and reminds me of the battle my daughter began waging almost 3 years ago now. Prayers and blessings to all of you.

  21. You are so beautiful, inside and out. Your faith inspires me to be more faithful and more generous. Thank you for sharing your story. Praying for you!

  22. We are praying for all of you here in Smithville!! Your faith, attitude and strength continue to amaze us. Thank you so much for the update.

  23. These updates are always an inspiration! Thrilled to hear the brain scan was clear!! Any good news is a step in the right direction and hopefully provides a dose of encouragement. God’s grace is sufficient in the highs and lows. Continued prayers. Jamie, your friendship is gift and Jen, you amaze me!

  24. So happy to hear the news of the brain scan but continuing to pray for your pain, dear Jen. May you feel His loving arms around you all night long tonight. Sending big hugs, love and prayers.

  25. So thankful to read this, I think about you often, Jen! I check a few times a day, haha! Great news on the brain scan!! Will continue praying for your pain. Sending you much love from Canada ❀ .. we'll never meet in person, but I'm looking forward to our ever after! You're such an inspiration to me!

  26. Three happy people, all smiles and full of love for each other.
    God is blessing you with full of hope and looking after you.. What a brave soul.
    All I know to say I am still praying for you .

  27. Thank you for the update—I’m so happy that Jen was able to rally and see her sweet Grandmother. I’m sure that’s good medicine for both of them—so much wisdom contained in their lives, and how wonderful for them to share with each other. Big love from a Red Raider living abroad. Well, Seattle. ;>)

  28. Sweet Jen, our family continues to pray for you. For less pain. For comfort that cannot be found in the temporary. For Scott. For faith. For Lincoln. That this would draw you three closer to the Lord. Much love.

  29. Thank you Jamie! I wait to get these emails. I’m so grateful for the healing, and I pray for God’s healing to touch every cell in Jen’s body. We do believe that he is able. I continue to marvel at the glow that Jen has even after feeling so crummy all week…a glow from deep within her soul. I’m praying with confidence that you will all have comfort and peace even as I write this. I’m praying for everyone involved in Jen’s care…that she will be a blessing to them and they will be a blessing to her. Love you ladies

  30. Thank you for the update. Continued prayers for Jen. I ordered a little something that should be delivered but I am afraid that I didn’t get to leave a note within the package. This is complete user error. Just want you to know that you have people EVERYWHERE that are thinking about you and praying for you. What an amazing woman you are and what a great example of faith in God in all things. Praying, praying

  31. Oh Jenn!! What I wouldn’t do to just take your place.. To give you rest and reprieve! I know we all feel that way! Ugh.. My heart breaks at all you have to suffer through! I am so sorry! Please know prayers are heavy your way.. I pray HE, our mighty God of all power and hope, carries you through every moment of every day, especially when it’s soo hard! Praying for your family and sweet friend while they support you

  32. So thankful for this update, Jamie!
    Praising Him for the undetectable brain lesions and a multitude of prayer warriors for The Clouse Family! We continue to pray for Jen, Scott and Lincoln and thank Him for those He is reaching and blessing through this journey.

  33. Gunner and I just finished praying for you, Scott and Linc. Gunner finished with a loud AMEN – you know it was LOUD! You are constantly on my heart throughout the day and I pray every moment that I can. Thankful for no brain lesions – celebrating each and every victory. I LOVE YOU Jennifer Lee!

  34. Thank you so much for the update, Jamie! Thankful for good brain scan results today.

    Praying for you, friend. Love you so much!

  35. Jen,
    You are a true example of grace, obedience and submission to Him. Thank you for blessing all of us with your words of faith. I’ve been praying in earnest and will continue to do so.
    All the way from Alberta, Canada,

    Robbyn

  36. Praying without ceasing! I pray God gives you the strength to continue to fight and when you cannot that He fights for YOU and that you reach complete healing from this dreadful disease and suffering. You are incredibly loved, Jen!

  37. Jennifer,

    What an encouragement reading your testimony of trust and hope in the One who has given us a “living hope through the resurrection” of his son.

    But what sadness too to see how hard things are ! May God’s presence be close and rich. Praying for you, Lincoln and Scott.

    From Geneva, Switerzland

    David

  38. Hey, Jen. This is Diana – your Bluebonnet Retreat counselor. I have been keeping up with your blog. Now I figured it is time for a comment. I came home from BBR amazed at your love of God, faith in GOD, and your determination to enjoy life every single day – even in the eyes of adversity. I pray for you, Scott, and Lincoln every single day. You touched my heart in a way that no one has in a long time. I will continue to be your prayer warrior and your friend.

  39. The Lardner house loves the Clouse house. Continued prayers coming your way. πŸ˜πŸ™
    Jen, you’re a gem. One of kind. Lover of many souls. Loved by many.

  40. Jamie, thank you for sharing this update.
    Jen, prayers, prayers, prayers continue for the cells in your body to respond to chemo, rest, fluids and love! Thank you for being to willing to share the ups and downs of this difficult journey. It enables all of us to be more humble, more grateful for days that we have that do not mirror yours, and more thankful for God’s love and faithfulness to flow over hurting hearts. You are not alone and a symphony of family and friends carry your burdens to the Lord, and praise Him in advance that He can be trusted.

  41. Praying from Clearwater, Florida, for you and your family. Rest and recovery my dear! Much love coming to y’all.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  42. You don’t know me! I found your blog somewhere-don’t remember where and when the newsletter was being sent, I asked for it. It touched my heart and I have been praying for you for many months. I am touched by your heart. If only mine was half as good as yours. I don’t have the right words to say but know that I am praying for you, your family and your friends for strength to continue this difficult journey. May God give you that strength!

  43. Sending my prayers to Jen and her family from up here in Vancouver Canada-πŸ™
    Her faith strength and courage are inspiring to me-🌟

  44. I am praying for you, Jen. I’ve been reading your story and am so inspired by your love of God . Prayers also for your sweet family. Love, Pam in Lake Jackson, Tx.

  45. Praying for you everyday….or more. Spurred on by your ministry of suffering and faith. Praying for Scott and Lincoln…and that others would follow you in your faith and faithfulness. God bless you Jen. You are a warrior.

  46. Sweet Jen, Brian and I continue to pray for you as we receive updates. I am forwarding your blog entries to B’s parents as well and they are praying and asking about you often. While I don’t have a front row seat I feel like “Row HH” is still a sweet view of how you are loved and God’s continuous hand on you, Scott, Lincoln, your docs, family & friends. It is amazing, Jen!! And I love you!

  47. I am praying for you, Lincoln, Scott and your friends/family. Praying for comfort and pain relief for you….. and for all of your hearts. I am amazed by your faith. I know you have a lot of babysitters….but, I live in Lakewood. My sister Amanda and I are close by and would be happy to babysit if you ever need it.

  48. Dear Jen,

    Thinking of you sweet friend! I pray that you and your family continue to feel God’s strength and remember how much you are loved! You continue to be an inspiration to us all and know that there is nothing we would not do to help you or your family. Love you Jen!

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

