More good news! Thankful thankful thankful…

I haven’t felt so good lately and as a result even the most regular tasks seem a bit daunting – even updating the blog. And that’s especially pathetic considering I do it on my iPhone with dictation. It’s not like it’s hard for me to talk!

I had scans again on Thursday – of my abdomen and pelvis and chest as well as my neck. It was super cute and should have been a good sign that when Dr. Osborne texted me to ask if I could talk she had Christina in the room with her too. Apparently Dr O wouldn’t let Christina call without her and they waited to call until they could both be in the room and share the good news. 

The overall report from the radiologist says “stable with moderate improvement.”  Considering we would take stable as really good news it was actually wonderful news to hear ‘stable  plus improvement.’ I’m crying as I say this. I see the kindness of our God in so many ways. My liver shows mixed results with some lesions that are bigger but some that are smaller. And the fluid that was around my liver is gone. My lungs are stable and the lymph nodes in my sternum and diaphragm are a mixed bag of growth and recession. We are thrilled! As the Lord sweetly ordained it, Scott had come home mid-day on Friday to pick me up to have lunch with him and his partner and employees so we were together to hear the good news. Those of you that know Scott well know that he is not even kind-of-sort-of-or-even-slightly-dramatic-or-super-expressive! He is my steady. But he was precious in his response of thanks to our God and a kiss for me. As Job talks about receiving good from the hand of the Lord as well as the bad it seems that we are so accustomed to accepting the bad that we were shocked and delighted with the good encouraging news. 

As a result, we will stay the course with this chemotherapy of Taxotere every three weeks. As I’ve mentioned before using Dr. Osborne’s highway analogy, she expects that my cancer will eventually outsmart this drug and work its way around on an alternate path but, for now, we celebrate that the Lord has blessed me with more time with those I love on earth. 

And now I’m bawling like a baby as I record this update for you all. Have I mentioned that our God is truly good, kind and always faithful? He has sustained us with bad news and then encourages us with good news. 

On a day to day basis, I feel like I have more hard days than good days. Some days I’m just exhausted and other days I’m exhausted and also feel pretty crummy. Today it is both. I haven’t thrown up in a long time but, as I’ve shared before, sometimes it’s hard without an appetite to take medicine and, many days, not very much sounds good. Especially first thing in the morning. Today I may have overindulged with a shake from Harry’s as my only sustenance (only thing that sounded good) and my handful of medicines didn’t consider that adequate nutrition. So I took a handful of meds and before too long I was back in a familiar place over the toilet. Oh well. You win some and you lose (literally!) some.

Our little family is in a sweet season. Lincoln can go from a firecracker to a cuddle bug in less than three seconds. Often, when he comes home with Scott or from a play date, he finds me laying down which makes me a bit sad for his reality but he always runs to me and crawls up to cuddle with me on the couch or in bed.  And in God’s kindness he recently told some friends of mine (his teachers at Chapel School) that what he loves about me is that I ‘play and build things with him.’ My friend shared that with me and it is a gift to know that his only thoughts of me aren’t as being sick or laying down. He also told the same friends that he loves his daddy because ‘he makes me eggs and the very best cinnamon toast.’ Adorable. Needless to say, his daddy takes on a lot of my jobs and is doing them very well. I am so thankful for such a fine father for the boy I love so much.

Thank you for following our journey and praying for us and serving us in countless ways. We are a blessed family. May the riches of the Lord’s blessings be yours today as well.

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “More good news! Thankful thankful thankful…

  1. I think of you and pray for you often. Your gift of sharing God in the struggles and celebrations has been so profound for me. Praising Him with you for the good news and for the healing and trusting Him to continue to uphold you through each second of the day. That you will feel his strength even as I write this…that His strength will carry you. I’m praying for healing in every single cell. I do believe He is able to do more than we can ever imagine. Love you sweet Jennifer

  2. Big smile on my face…..! I came to your from Melanie’s blog. Think of you often and have been wondering how you are doing. This is amazing news!

  3. Happy, happy, happy. What wonderful news. I love that you are always so upbeat, even when things aren’t going so well. You are an inspiration. I also think of you often and you and your family are always in my prayers.

  4. Bawling right along with you as I read the wonderful words of positive results. I wish for you that you could feel better more than you do. Just so thankful to hear of how sweetly God has blessed you with a husband like Scott that is so steady and faithful through this storm.

  5. That’s a sweet praise, we are rejoicing with you and we are praying that you continue to keep stable and have many more good days with your boys and all who love you dearly!

    Psalm 34:1-22 I will extol the Lord at all times;his praise will always be on my lips. I will glory in the Lord;let the afflicted hear and rejoice. Glorify the Lord with me;let us exalt his name together. I sought the Lord, and he answered me;he delivered me from all my fears. Those who look to him are radiant;their faces are never covered with shame. This poor man called, and the Lord heard him;he saved him out of all his troubles. The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him,and he delivers them. Taste and see that the Lord is good;blessed is the one who takes refuge in him. Fear the Lord, you his holy people,for those who fear him lack nothing. The lions may grow weak and hungry,but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing. Come, my children, listen to me;I will teach you the fear of the Lord. Whoever of you loves lifeand desires to see many good days, keep your tongue from eviland your lips from telling lies. Turn from evil and do good;seek peace and pursue it. The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous,and his ears are attentive to their cry; but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil,to blot out their name from the earth. The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them;he delivers them from all their troubles. The Lord is close to the brokenheartedand saves those who are crushed in spirit. The righteous person may have many troubles,but the Lord delivers him from them all; he protects all his bones,not one of them will be broken. Evil will slay the wicked;the foes of the righteous will be condemned. The Lord will rescue his servants;no one who takes refuge in him will be condemned.

  6. Dearest Jen,

    I have tears in my eyes reading how God is not only giving you little gifts from words of friends and loved ones but also in His ability to heal and improve your body even on days when you feel like you do. You are constantly surrounded by prayer and love and I’m so tremendously happy that you had this news to share. Stay strong dear friend. You are a gift, an inspiration and a beautiful light in his world. You are loved!!!

  7. No one could read this without shedding a river of tears of joy and thankfulness . Praise God! Lifting you all up every morning and night.

  8. So thankful for this update and reading this good news! Your faith and testimony is such an inspiration to me! We do indeed serve an awesome God! You continue to be in my prayers each day…..

  9. I know you only what I read from your blog (connected with you from the Big Mama blog). God has ordained your days to be a blessing to other people – whether they have cancer or not. His faithfulness and love for you is so abundant, and he has sheltered you ‘under his wings.’ I often think about you, your illness and your husband and your son, and when I do, I try and utter a prayer of mercy and grace for all of you. Happy day and happy to hear this news from you.

  10. Great news, Jen! Loved your teaching this morning. You look and sound so strong. We’ll keep praying that this medicine keeps the cancer on it’s heels!

  11. Praise upon praise! I am so thankful for this good news and your continued encouragement (without even knowing it) to pony up and fight the good fight because God is good and Satan is an asshole! Love you girl and grateful for this great news, as well as Dads that make killer cinnamon toast. Continued prayers your way homie! xo

  12. I have tears of joy for you as I read this wonderful news of encouragement and answers to prayers. I am blessed by your trust and constantly
    pray for you and your precious family as you continue to walk this journey together.

  13. A friend of mine was just diagnosed with stage “3/4 breast cancer” and starts chemo today (Feb 4th). Do you have any words of wisdom or encouragement I can pass on to her? Also, how can we as friends help her the most without overwhelming her? She has a great support system through our homeschool community and family that lives nearby. Thanks so much. We are praying for the Clouse family on this journey and praying for you to see God and be used by God each day to change the life of one person for Him. May He shower down blessings! Courtney Dorris (Jenifer Hall Welsh’s little sister; c3dorris@hotmail.com)

  14. I’m so soooo grateful for your good news! I’m also so grateful you are teaching each of us how to walk through life as we get to share a piece of your journey. Praying constantly for you and your precious loved ones!!! I hope you receive a portion of the blessing back that you give us on this side of your blog!! xoxoxo! 💝

... Those are my thoughts. Now, I'd love to read yours...

